The nation's ocean and coastal agency: Supporting coastal communities, promoting a robust economy, and protecting coastal and marine ecosystems
benthic map of Redfish Bay, Texas Cuyahoga River Fire Nov. 3, 1952. Courtesy of Cleveland Press Collection at Cleveland State University Library coastal wetlands Screen shot of NOAA sea level rise viewer
point nemo
Where is Point Nemo?

Want to get away from it all? You can't do better than a point in the Pacific Ocean popularly known as 'Point Nemo.' It's the location in the ocean that is farthest from land.

More Browse All Facts

Graphic of oil tanker spilling oil with glaciers in background
Making Waves

Twenty-five years after Exxon Valdez, how is marine life in Alaska's Prince William Sound faring? NOAA biologist Gary Shigenaka joins us to talk about the legacy of this historic spill.

Listen More Podcasts

About NOS

The National Ocean Service (NOS) translates science, tools and services into action, to address threats to coastal areas such as climate change, population growth, port congestion, and contaminants in the environment, all working towards healthy coasts and healthy economies.

learn more
Miami coastline


Supporting healthy, resilient coastal communities.


Midway Atoll


Protecting the health, productivity, and diversity of our ocean.


NOAA Coast Survey vessel


Navigation, tides, currents, and geodesy.