The exclusive economic zone is the zone where the U.S. and other coastal nations have jurisdiction over natural resources

map of U.S. EEZ

This NOAA map shows the U.S. exclusive economic zone. Click for full image.

The U.S. Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) extends no more than 200 nautical miles from the territorial sea baseline and is adjacent to the 12 nautical mile territorial sea of the U.S., including the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and any other territory or possession over which the United States exercises sovereignty. 

Within the EEZ, the U.S. has:

Note:  Under certain U.S. fisheries laws, such as the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act, the term "exclusive economic zone" is defined as having an inner boundary that is coterminous with the seaward (or outer) boundary of each of the coastal states. While its outer limit is the same as the EEZ on NOAA charts, its inner limit is coterminous with the coastal states' boundary at 3 nautical miles, except for Texas, western Florida, and Puerto Rico, which claim a 9 nautical mile belt.

For more information:

Office of Coast Survey

Download EEZ Limits

Presidential Proclamation No. 5030 of March 10, 1983

Federal Register, Vol. 60, No. 163, August 23, 1995, "Exclusive Economic Zone and Maritime Boundaries: Notice of Limits"